Skip to content

Meal Prep and Other Weekend Things

August 11, 2014
tags:

My weekend kicked off with this news on Friday:

Garth

Hell yeah! I was lucky enough to get a ticket to see Garth Brooks perform and I am dying of excitement!!! See, three exclamation points! Seeing Garth is bucket-list level thrilling. I can’t wait!

I celebrated by taking J-slice to a novelty doughnut shop Saturday morning. We couldn’t decide on flavors so we got 11 different kinds. ha. I’m such a good role model!

Fractured Prune doughnuts

The doughnuts are served hot, fresh, and made-to-order although we just picked from the list since it was our first time. There are probably 20+ options so it was a tad overwhelming.

Fractured Prune doughnuts

Shockingly, J-slice’s eyeballs skipped right over the “maple & bacon” delight although the mistake was later discovered and I have been informed that next time will be a different story.

As mentioned in my web wandering roundup of drool-worthy food, I spent most of my weekend in the kitchen. J-slice applied for the sous chef position and was offered the job; he accepted. He liked that the job came with the perk of wearing the A Christmas Story apron… which of course is where he stashed the herbs and spices.

J-slice's apron #cookingwithjslice

We kicked off our cooking session with a summer vegetable slow cooker lasagna. Spoiler alert: tastes good but next time it’s going in the oven.

summer vegetable lasagna

Next up were these caprese lasagna roll-ups. They looked soooo good that I was kinda upset I had already decided on making these to freeze for later. If you find me staring into the freezer, these are why. Just checking on them and saying hi!

caprese lasagna roll-ups #cookingwithjslice

We also made caprese-style pizza bites for the freezer. They sell like hotcakes around here. I should start charging for real.

freezer meals

Later in the weekend, I also made and froze shrimp burgers (love them!) as well as BBQ cheddar chickpea burgers (new to us).

This is my first real attempt at making food ahead of time to freeze. J-slice and I both have a soccer season coming up which will likely mean 5-6 days of soccer per week. I was hoping to get some real food made so we don’t skip meals, eat junk, or cook but eat super late.

It feels good knowing I have multiple dinners ready to roll but it was a lot of work for a weekend and sadly I’m probably the only one who will appreciate it. I’m pretty sure once these meals get eaten, I’ll just go back to my old standby of “breakfast or fend-for-yourself” on soccer nights. Trying to be superwoman/mom is too tiring.

J-slice and I wrapped up the cooking fest with homemade orange creamsicle smoothies. We didn’t care for them at all so I’m on the search for a different recipe or ideas to make the smoothie thicker and have a stronger vanilla flavor.

Did you do anything exciting this weekend? I hope you got outside and did something active for me since the only thing I did was walk around my kitchen. Ugh. I did buy new running/trail sneakers though!

Did you cook anything fun or do you have any tasty freezer meal recipes to share?

Happy Monday!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2014 11:44 am

    Okay, so first of all, let’s talk donuts. I wish that I could reach into those pictures and grab a couple… Seriously. I’m not a huge donut person, but – ever since I became pregnant – they always look so amazing to me. Ha, ha. And fresh donuts like this have to be the ultimate indulgence. YUM!
    Secondly, you are totally my hero! Look at you, freezing meals for future dinners! My goal is to do that in late October / early November, so that I have meals in the freezer for when the baby comes. Let me know if you like any of the recipes in particular!!! :)

    • August 11, 2014 12:09 pm

      Donuts aren’t really my thing. You know it’s just an excuse to consume sprinkles! But “novelty” donuts are a thing these days (like cupcakes) and I’ve been wanting to see what all the hype is about! If they hadn’t been warm and freshly made, I’d feel “meh.” But I like that they were made right in front of me so I at least know they aren’t full of junk before they’re topped with junk (ifyaknowwhatImean).

      I have not frozen any of these meals before but we do LOVE the shrimp burgers. It’s one of our favorites! Also, I know nothing about freezing meals. These are all “made” but not cooked, so it will still take some time to throw in an oven or brown up on the stove. I have a lot to learn.

      Do you already have a list of recipes to make and freeze?

      • August 11, 2014 12:18 pm

        I do have a list of recipes that I plan to try… I can’t remember, are you on Pinterest? I have an entire board dedicated to freezer meals. :) (But again, these are not tried yet… They just sounded good)!

  2. August 11, 2014 10:43 pm

    Question: did you freeze your caprese bites before cooking them? Maybe I need to try that. Any time I make them and intend to freeze half, I end up just eating the entire batch before I can put them in the freezer! (The smell, oh the smell!)

    • August 12, 2014 9:50 am

      They are irresistible, aren’t they?!? Especially the ones where the cheese squeezes out and gets a little crusty on the baking sheet… mmm! And yes, I did freeze them before baking. I’ll keep you posted if that actually works. Otherwise I was concerned that baking them twice would overbake ‘em. It’s an experiment!

  3. August 12, 2014 11:15 am

    Those Caprese lasagna roll ups look soooo good. I really want to be better about prepping meals for the week on the weekend. Share any good recipes you find!!

    • August 12, 2014 11:16 am

      That’s dangerous… I could send you a million. I should probably just start a Pinterest board of our favorites.

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

