Skip to content

Web Wandering

May 16, 2014

web wandering

Woohoo! It’s Friday! Killing time at work till 5pm? Or want to read some fun things this weekend? Let’s wander the web together!

This funfetti sugar cookie cake by Sally makes me want to shove All The Sprinkles into my mouth right now. Zillions of tiny little colorful bits of heaven. I’d love if someone made this for me but that’s a joke so I guess I should make it for someone and celebrate alongside them :)

I’m really digging Elise’s make29 project so this behind-the-scenes look and dive into her thoughts is super interesting.

If you’re planning to get crazy this weekend, you might wanna save this one for Monday: Compare, But Be Fair. Caitlin gives some Do’s and Don’ts for comparing in a healthy way.

There’s been some conversation around here (mostly in this post) about how often I blog, consistently creating content, and maintaining that habit. I’m sure my choice is mostly driven by my marketing background. Once again, Marie Forleo comes through like a champ and addresses feelings about your own content in Is Your Best Creative Work Being Ignored? (It’s about much more than the title suggests so it’s a must-watch).

In a related theme, Jessica offers some tips on energy management that are so obvious that they’re not. Know what I mean? She really nails it. If you’re struggling to get things done, try her tips.

10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered. OMG. This is brilliant and beautiful and life-changing and clearly I need to get my hands on the book immediately.

And finally, fluffy lemon cupcakes with whipped coconut cream by my cooking idol, Jessica. Summer in the form of a cupcake. Could I just cannonball into that pillowy dream please? For 20 years I was not a fan of lemon and now that I am, I have to make up for lost time.

Have you been wandering the web too? Got something to share? Link to it in the comments!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2014 12:27 pm

    Thanks so much for including my post in here, Janelle! You’re right that the tips are so insanely obvious, but just a little more difficult to put into practice :)

    • May 18, 2014 9:19 pm

      uh YES, exactly! You could rephrase it 500 ways and I would still need to hear all 500.

  2. May 19, 2014 12:48 pm

    I saw this article via facebook: http://www.parisisd.net/. It’s a school district’s letter to parents about standardized testing. The whole thing is fantastic but the highlight is this part, “These assessments do not reflect the quality of teaching or learning in our classrooms. Instead, they reflect a punitive; one size fits all test-driven system. Our students are much more than a once-a-year pencil and bubble sheet test. Your child means immeasurably more than just a number generated in Austin.”

    I don’t know how standardized testing is in PA, but the state of things here in TX is awful. Teachers have been saying for years how broken the system is, yet it’s only gotten worse. The kids feel so much pressure, and I think they do feel a sense of worth is tied up in their score. Once they’ve passed the test, they check out. That’s not how learning should be! It makes my blood boil. But I take heart in the fact that school districts are seeing the light. It’s a small step in the right direction.

    • May 27, 2014 8:48 am

      Nice read! Thanks for sharing! My cousin is a teacher and I’m pretty sure things aren’t great around PA either. Plus J-slice had PSSAs AND end-of-year district assessments this year which just feels like a LOT of testing for a 5th grader (and I’m sure for his teacher too). He’s had some fantastic teachers and I wish they had more freedom to actually teach and be creative.

      Maybe some day you’ll be able to improve the learning/testing environment :)

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

