Skip to content

Getting My Priorities in Order

May 1, 2014

Earlier this week, I was complaining to John that I didn’t feel good about myself because I knew I was overcommitted. For me, overcommitting means I do everything but nothing gets 100% of my energy. In Janelle-terms, that’s called half-assing things. I don’t want to and don’t mean to but it’s just not humanly possible for me to do everything I want to do… and yet stupidly, I try.

Here’s what’s on my plate:

  • A full-time job
  • A Saturday job for five hours which really needs me to devote ten hours
  • Blogging five times per week
  • Taking a flexible online course
  • Playing soccer twice per week
  • Wanting to do something about not being happy with my body
  • Visiting my Grandpa at least once per week but shooting for twice
  • Keeping up with friends and family

I must be insane because I am continually trying to add to that list, while not being able to properly manage the current things there! If I ever tell you that I’m juggling all of those things plus wanting to plan a wedding or have a baby, oh for the love of all things sprinkled, please plan an intervention. If you sprinkle the path to the rehab facility, I will gladly go. Promise.

When I talked to John about overcommitting myself, he said I needed to prioritize better. I knew he was right (holy crap I just wrote that publicly for all of the internet!) because everything I’ve read says not to say “I don’t have time for that” but instead say “That’s not a high enough priority right now.”

The troubling thing is: I don’t know how to get my priorities in order. Almost all of the above list feels equally weighted and lined up at the Extremely Important mark. I need the money from my jobs, I love blogging and playing soccer, the online course is an investment in my future, addressing my body issues will help with everything else I’m doing, I only have a few months left with my Grandpa, and I can’t exactly neglect my friends and family. I already schedule out my time using the Sunrise calendar app so…

There has to be something I’m missing. What am I doing wrong? What tips do you have for prioritizing and scheduling/managing time? How do I squeeze everything in or how do I know what to cut? I need your wise and brilliant perspective. Share it with me, won’t you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2014 9:35 am

    I think you know what you need to do (prioritize!), the hard part is doing it. You have to determine what your non-negotiable a are. Work? Or can you cut back on hours or put the kibosh on Saturdays? I’d say Grandpa is also probably pretty high up there in terms of priority. You paid for the class, so you don’t want to back out of that, but you need to be realistic about how much time you can dedicate to it each week.

    I’d also say make sure that you budget a little time for self care. Getting enough sleep and eating right might take time away from other things but they will make you feel better and perform better at everything else.

    You know “priorities” is a big theme for me this year, so I feel your pain. It’s hard but necessary to make those tough choices. You’ll be happier in the end!

    • May 18, 2014 9:28 pm

      waaaaa can’t someone just make tough decisions for me? oh crap, yeah, then I probably wouldn’t like the decisions made. ha.

      Thanks for your perspective! I’m currently taking a break from the course work. I feel guilty but at the same time, feel massively better.

  2. May 1, 2014 11:31 am

    It is hard to figure priorities out. IT ALL seems important – that’s why I’m doing it! Right? But take a step back and try to look at that list as if it was created by another person. Sometimes we’re too close to things to see clearly. And remember – just because you prioritize (for example) spending time with your Grandpa higher than writing 5 blog posts a week because that feels right for this stage of life, it doesn’t mean that those priorities will exist forever. You are NOT locked into this prioritization schedule for the rest of your life. Just do the right things for the right reasons right now.

    • May 18, 2014 9:30 pm

      I think I need those last two sentences tattooed on my arm. Sheesh. You said it right!

      My brain WANTS to be in 17th gear and doeverythingallthetime but my brain and body NEED to be going a lot slower and only pick the most important things for RIGHT NOW. Amen sista. Holy crap. Do you charge for that advice?!

  3. May 11, 2014 9:59 am

    Whoaaaaaa- first off, why are you blogging five times per week? I don’t think I realized you were blogging that often. I don’t know what your specific goals are around that, but I think 5 times a week is VERY high.

    I’m not sure what advice to give you because I struggle with many of the same things. I think the thing to focus on here is not beating yourself up when you can’t fit it all in.

    • May 11, 2014 9:24 pm

      ha. you and I are so similar in a lot of ways!

      I don’t have a specific reason why I post five times per week except that it feels “legit” and I appreciate maintaining the consistency and habit of creating content that often. It’s a challenge (I mean that in every sense – good and bad).

      Also, I might be nuts :)

Trackbacks

  1. Web Wandering | the20what

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

