Skip to content

Life Lessons Learned

April 30, 2014

Life Lessons Learned

1. I’m para-para-paralyzed (in indecision). (Coldplay “reference” for the win. Decision paralysis notsomuch). I have spent an insane amount of time feeling paralyzed in indecision, not wanting to make a wrong move that could cost me time. Apparently it didn’t occur to me that making a mistake is a learning experience, NOT a waste of time. I’ve spent WAY more time stalling than if I had just chosen a course of action, tried it, realized it was a mistake (maybe!) and started over again. Ugh.

2. I am who I am but that’s moldable. Last Fall I did a mud run and was very hesitant to get extremely dirty (it isn’t my thing). Then just this past weekend I did another mud run and I was diving in so much more freely! It’s SO me to sit back and watch first, or hesitate first, or ask a billion questions first before feeling comfortable. It’s also SO me to try something new and try to keep from being an old stick in the mud. (Pun very much intended).

Suggested reading: The 25 Things That People With Type A Personalities Do by Paul Hudson. Three of those are wrong but pretty much the other 22 describe me exactly. It’s who I am!

3. You can inspire greatness in others just by pushing yourself to grow. I’ve been blogging consistently every weekday for a year and a half, and sporadically for a while before that. Forcing myself to be consistent is a challenge in coming up with topics, making time to write, planning, and about a million other things. Not only have my habits encouraged J-slice to start his Red, White, and Wahoo! blog, but John has recently made comments about wanting to start a few projects. It’s surprising to hear him talk about these ideas and come up with them on his own because I know (humbly) that they’re ideas that would’ve never been on his radar if I hadn’t opened his world to new things.

What life lessons have you learned lately?

Life is very much interested in teaching us lessons if only we are willing to pay attention, listen, and learn. Part of the fun of living is to consistently stretch and grow, right? Read more life lessons here.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2014 11:04 am

    Jump!! Do it. You have the power to un-paralyze yourself! You’re going to be marvelous, dahling.

    Going to read about type A personalities now!

    • April 30, 2014 7:18 pm

      Thank you for that! I needed it. And will continue to need it.

  2. April 30, 2014 11:13 am

    I’m digging on #2. I am super impressed that you’ve done 2 mud runs now and that you’re talking about doing more! I had the impression after the first one that you’d had enough, but you surprised me (and maybe surprised yourself) by going back for more and getting crazy with it.

    It’s easy to feel like certain qualities in us just ‘are.’ As in, I’m shy, I’m not very independent, I’m timid. I’ve been surprised to find that although those things are true, they aren’t permanent or true in every situation. The craziness of the last few years has really helped me to toughen up and become braver, a little more outgoing, a lot more independent. It’s important to remember when we feel like, “I can’t do xyz because I’m…” because chances are, you can work through whatever is holding you back. Unless it really is something permanent. Like, “I can’t reach that high up thing because I’m short.” I live with that daily!

    • April 30, 2014 7:21 pm

      Thank you! And I appreciate your wisdom. It’s like waking dormant qualities from their long winter’s nap, right?

      haha. Laughing about the short comment. So true. Except mine is “I can’t go in the sun because ahhhhhhhh I’m mmmellllltiiiiiing.”

  3. April 30, 2014 8:27 pm

    #1. I am definitely just learning this myself. I’ve always been afraid of making mistakes, but it’s true that they are just experiences. They are nothing to be ashamed of!! #2. It’s amazing how life molds us, and it really is fun to look back and to see progress like that! #3. And way to go! That’s awesome that you’ve encouraged your family to set their own goals!!! As for me, I feel as though I’ve been learning SO many life lessons lately. I guess change will do that to a person! :) Maybe the biggest life lesson is to stop looking at the future so much and to just enjoy today! I’m really starting to get better at that… :)

    • April 30, 2014 8:41 pm

      I like the way you worded your comment about making mistakes. I do love a good experience, so why be afraid of a mistake-experience? Within reason.

      I always figured I would massively change when starting and having a family. I guess there’s no reason I need to wait till then. I would LOVE to see a post from you about life lessons or ways you feel yourself changing/learning/growing. You’re so introspective and wise; I think you’d have a lot of great things to share.

      • May 1, 2014 8:32 am

        Yes, ‘within reason’ is a VERY important part to add, when talking about not being afraid to make mistakes. ;) Good call on that one!
        And thank you for those kind words, Girl! I shall definitely look into writing such a post, although I don’t see myself as being any wiser than you or any other blogger out there. :) We all definitely have our lessons and knowledge to bring to the table, and that’s why blogging is so awesome. We can learn from each other!!

        • May 1, 2014 9:33 am

          Oh psh. You have your own unique perspective and no one else in the world has that! It’s not about being better or wiser, it’s just about sharing your perspective because it might help someone else who’s in a similar place.

Trackbacks

  1. Life Lessons Learned: On Taking a Break | the20what

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

