Skip to content

Dirty Girl Mud Run 2.0

April 28, 2014

Obstacle course? Yes. Mud run? No. Being dirty was never, ever my thing. Then my (possibly future) sister-in-law Tara asked me to do the Dirty Girl mud run with her and dangit if I wouldn’t do just about anything for her!

This is us last Fall at the Charlotte Dirty Girl:

Dirty Girl post-run Oct 2013

Then she went and did it again… asked me to do another mud run with her, this time in Virginia Beach. That’s where I was this past weekend!

Dirty Girl Mud Run - Virginia Beach - April 2014

I ended up significantly muddier this time around (I’m on the far left in both photos). I’d say there are several reasons for that.

For one, it monsooned for hours the nite before the run so everything was muddy, including the parts of the course that weren’t supposed to be. That meant there was more real mud instead of watery dirt. For two, our shirts were more cotton than last year so they soaked up the mud. I swear it weighed at least five pounds till we were done. And three, possibly the most interesting reason, is that I knew what I was getting into this time around so I was more willing to get down and dirty without being afraid. Except the tunnel (called utopian tubes) because it’s dark and claustrophobic and I’ll just pass on that.

Tara’s face (on the left) cracks me up here. She was NOT afraid of the mud. No sir. I think she had the time of her life!

Dirty Girl Mud Run close-up - Virginia Beach - April 2014After we got cleaned up – which by the way, took a thorough double-scrubbing in the shower and we all still felt dirty – I rewarded myself with this:

sprinkles! Virginia Beach - April 2014

Pretty sure it coulda used more sprinkles though.

We stayed right on the beach and it was sunny yet a little cool. That’s perfect Janelle-at-the-beach weather.

Isn’t Tara gorgeous? Gosh. I could just marry her! Poop on John’s brother for getting to her first. To the right is Tara’s friend Amber who was my car-mate and roommate for the way-too-short weekend.

me, Tara, Amber - Virginia Beach - April 2014

Obligatory beach sunrise in 3… 2… aaaand 1…

Virginia Beach sunrise April 2014We’re thinking about making this mud run an annual tradition. Isn’t that crazy? I never thought I’d be saying that. Last year our families were with us and this time it was just us girls. I’m hoping next time we can find a happy medium because I loved the girls-only time but we could’ve used some supporters in the way of cheering and photography. I think maybe we’ll try another city next time. I like traveling for fun events like this!

Have you done a mud run? Dirty Girl is women-only and is definitely for fun, not life-or-death. Have you been to Virginia Beach? The boardwalk is… different. It’s paved and there aren’t any shops.

I have one last thing to say:

Dear Body,
Please stop being sore!
love,
janelle :)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. angelfish111304 permalink
    April 28, 2014 8:36 pm

    I am so glad that you all decided to join me. The mud/obstacle runs are so much more fun when you are with people you love :) and people who just want to have a good time. Who doesn’t want to get a little excersize in while playing in a mud puddle (or A LOT of them 😜) I know I do!!
    Virginia beach was interesting. I think it would be fun to go back when there isn’t so many “special events”.
    Thanks for loving me enough to get down and dirty with me!!!

    • April 28, 2014 8:45 pm

      You know it, girl! Thanks for the invite and forcing me to do something that gets me out of my comfort zone!

  2. April 29, 2014 12:00 am

    Dang, Girl! You earned those sprinkles fo’ sho’! I’m super impressed that you’ve done two (two!!!) of these mud runs now. What a good idea to do it annually! Something fun to look forward to every year. Also, digging that sunrise picture. So pretty!

    My mud run experience was a one and done type of thing. They have a mud run here at Bliss, but I didn’t even consider it. I prefer my runs long and clean!

    • April 29, 2014 9:18 am

      haha I prefer them clean too but the mud and obstacles distract me from the running part, which is the part you enjoy!

  3. April 29, 2014 10:57 am

    Those sprinkles. Heck yeah. :)

    I think mud races need to definitely be an annual tradition for you ladies!

    • April 29, 2014 8:18 pm

      Apparently we’re eyeing up another for later this year! Getting wild and crazy!

  4. Bert permalink
    April 29, 2014 12:41 pm

    You deserved every one of those sprinkles…..and MORE!!

    • April 29, 2014 8:18 pm

      Definitely the MORE! If you’re referring to more sprinkles ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Life Lessons Learned | the20what

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

