Skip to content

25 Days of Giving: Day 12 – Helping Grandpa

December 12, 2013

Last year I helped my Grandpa with his Christmas cards. We spent a while sorting through past years’ cards, finding addresses, and hand-labeling envelopes.

Tonite we were a well-oiled machine! Quite the team!

helping Grandpa with his Christmas cards

I had all of last years’ addresses typed up and my Mom printed them on labels. Half of them we ended up sending a Christmas email to instead so that made it even faster. And that’s a good thing when you’re 89 and a half and every little thing requires a big effort.

Day 12 of 25 Days of Giving wasn’t about just helping my Grandpa, although that was a big part. It was also about carving out a big chunk of time to spend with him on what would’ve otherwise been a lonely evening. We talked, I listened, I helped, he felt better about getting things done. Plus I showed him how to FaceTime from his iPad! (A gift from his grandson, my cousin Daniel).

Definitely a hugely successful evening and one of my favorite gives so far. If 25 Days of Giving focused solely on my Grandpa, I’d be totally okay with that. I’m sure he would be too!

Oh and bonus: while sorting through more old cards (I saw as old as 2002 in the pile!), I asked him if he’d mind if I donated them to St. Jude’s so I have about 50 more cards to send to them!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2013 5:35 am

    Aww! I love your grandpa! So that’s where the extra cards came from ;)

    • December 13, 2013 9:14 am

      haha yep! Turns out his tendency to keep everything works out in St. Jude’s favor!

  2. December 13, 2013 10:36 am

    This is so sweet! What a rewarding way to give and you’ll have the treasured memory of being Christmas card elves together forever.

  3. December 18, 2013 8:41 am

    Awww, Grandpa! I know that the time y’all spend together is precious and meaningful to him and to you. I’m glad you were able to do this.

Trackbacks

  1. 25 Days of Giving: Reflection | the20what

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

