Skip to content

Dirty South Summer Vacation – North Carolina Edition

September 17, 2013

Five weeks ago I filled you in on the first half of our weeklong summer vacation and then… totally dropped the ball. Let’s pretend that didn’t happen, shall we?

Okay so to recap: we took a vacation in between John’s two two-week trips away for work. We split our week-ish of vacation in half and spent the first part in Georgia with my Dad then the last part in North Carolina with John’s brother, sister-in-law, three nieces and nephew. Plus two dogs, a cat, two birds, and a fish :)

As it is with most of our time spent in North Carolina, it was hot and humid. Like please-don’t-make-me-go-outside kind of hot and humid. But we went out anyway because with that many people in one house, and four of them under age six, you better get some fresh air or you’ll go bonkers.

Nephew A & Niece B - August 2013

I’m so in love with that photo. Look at big sister’s arm around little brother. Melts your heart, right? Did your ovaries just ache?

Niece B on the slide - August 2013

While the boys went on post to do whatever it is they feel they always need to do on post, the girls and I went to a pottery painting place. That’s three Ps! I think it was the first time for all of us. Knowing that I would get impatient, I picked a small object (turtle) and the others picked something larger.

pottery painting NC - August 2013

It was a very cool experience. Have you ever painted pottery? You have to put several coats on for the color to come out solid and you have to wait for it to dry between coats! That’s like… not in my DNA. It was fun for the kids though since they don’t have that Perfection Complex like I do. I would definitely go again, and surely take them, I’d just stick to a small object again or just help them paint theirs (theirs took foreverrr).

In the evening we all gathered round the firepit that Josh built because he is All That Is Man. Putting two brothers around a firepit with, ya know, FIRE makes for some interesting times. Those two together are hilarious and of course the image of maturity.

But I didn’t care because Josh pre-built me a peanut butter cup smore :) He won a bazillion possible-future-brother-in-law points right there. Livin the life.

NC firepit - August 2013

The real highlight of the visit was celebrating our niece’s fifth birthday. It was the first time we got to be around for her actual birthday and first time we got to party with her!

Tara and I made one of those watermelon sharks for the party. I don’t even need to show you a photo because I’m sure you can imagine it looked like Martha Stewart herself made it. (Riiiiiight…) Later on, the birthday girl and I baked her beloved red velvet chocolate chip cookies together.

This family and their love for my red velvet cookies just cracks me up. What’s more hilarious is how they have red blood-like cookie smeared all over their faces during and after cookie consumption. It’s like a family of blood-sucking vampires has invaded. But adorable vampires!

Niece K red velvet cookies - August 2013

Our time spent in North Carolina was short. Isn’t it always? I think I could move in next door to the family and never get sick of them, especially Tara. She’s one incredible woman, friend, and mother. I could do without the heat though. Pass on that!

I know it’s September but I do have one more summer-related post to drop in your friendly little lap. Hopefully I can get that to you this week before Fall officially comes charging through the door this weekend. Who’s excited though?? Mmm Fall <3

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2013 10:12 am

    I want to see a picture of your turtle! The one and only time I ever did painting like this was at a birthday party of a friend when I was 5, I think. I pained a butterfly purple and pink and it actually hung on my wall for years and years. Then I went to college and threw away all my junk, which included that butterfly. I wonder if there is a place like this around here; it’d be a fun girls outing.

    • September 18, 2013 10:30 am

      I shall take a photo of the turtle! I originally thought “no one cares about my dang turtle” but clearly I was wrong! :)

      The pottery is a bit expensive but it’s legit and if you go small, it’s totally reasonable. (I think my small-fist-size turtle was $8?) Plus it’s more about the experience and getting to sit down and talk with your girls. Find one! You might like it!

  2. September 19, 2013 9:12 am

    That peanut butter cup smore? Oh. my. gosh. Yes, please!

    • September 19, 2013 9:13 am

      I know, right? They’re so good that I always end up eating two or three! Try it!

Trackbacks

  1. Showing the Summer Bucket List Who’s Boss | the20what
  2. 13 in 2013: Year in Review | the20what

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

