Skip to content

The Best Way to Bake Cookies

July 8, 2013

If you don’t know me “in real life,” you may not know that I love to bake cookies. Now that you know this, you probably want to know me “in real life” so you can sample the cookies. Amiright?

Well here are a few little insider secrets for the best way to bake cookies, a technique I perfected over the weekend on my family-famous red velvet chocolate chip cookies.

1. Find excellent assistants

Grab your boyfriend, your child, your not-yet sister-in-law, or in this case, your two oldest nieces and show them the cookie ropes!

2. Get in the cookie-baking mood

We mentally prepared for cookie-baking by reading a fun book together. It’s called The Day the Crayons Quit and you. need. this. book. I don’t care how old you are. You need it! It’s hilarious.

reading with J-slice and the nieces

3. Excellent cookies require an excellent recipe

99% of my cookie recipes come from the How Sweet It Is blog. If you haven’t made Jessica’s cookies, you haven’t lived. I haven’t found a bad cookie recipe on there yet.

4. Prepare all of your ingredients ahead of time

Don’t forget the darling nieces and an apron or oversized shirt to protect their cute clothes from getting dirty!

baking cookies with K

5. When it comes to baking, precision measuring is key

…except for chocolate chips which can be measured in heaping 4- and 6-year-old handfuls.

6. Clean up while cookies are baking

We prefer this method:

baking cookies with K - cleanup

7. For heavenly results, remove cookies from oven when they look underbaked

They’ll continue to bake on the pan, plus this is how you get soft cookies!

baking cookies with K & E

8. Always sample your work. Enjoy!

K eating red velvet cookies

What’s your favorite cookie to eat or bake? Do you have any pointers for fabulous cookie results?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2013 7:26 pm

    This post made me smile the entire time!!! I also prefer that clean up method and I always take the cookies out when they aren’t quite “done”. Thanks for making me smile. :-)

    • July 10, 2013 4:11 pm

      I just hope you don’t stick your entire head in the bowl! ;)

  2. July 8, 2013 9:21 pm

    Ha, ha. I love your cleanup method!! :) Yum!

    • July 10, 2013 4:11 pm

      Classy, right? That’s definitely going in her senior yearbook ;)

  3. July 9, 2013 9:52 am

    I definitely want to know you in real life so I can taste test the cookies. Your helpers are quite dashing – especially with the aprons.

  4. July 10, 2013 4:09 pm

    Adorable helpers and delicious cookies? You can’t beat that! Looks like y’all had a blast!

    I’m not one for making cookies from scratch (too many ingredients!) but I’ll go the good ol’ “put it on the pan and stick it in the oven” kind. I’m also a fan of doing them a little underdone and gooey.

    • July 10, 2013 4:13 pm

      If you like red velvet cake at all (I’m indifferent but John’s family loves it), those cookies are easy. Box red velvet cake mix, oil, eggs, vanilla. Mix, add choc chips, drop onto the pan. You could handle that! :)

Trackbacks

  1. A Vacation is a Vacation | the20what

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

