Skip to content

Weekend + Father’s Day

June 18, 2013

I was feeling under the weather yesterday so I took a break from work and blogging. I know it’s not cool to post about your weekend on a Tuesday but I’m gonna hope I have enough cool points to spare losing a few because I just have to tell you about this past weekend.

Friday nite we hung out with John’s family since the NC crew had just gotten into town. YIPPEE! There were seven adults, five kids, two cats, and a dog. And that’s missing a few! Plus a couple of those adults (cough…men…cough) act like kids so that count may be a bit off.

This is John’s sister’s baby girl who is actually about 18 months old so I guess “baby” is no longer accurate. She was mesmerized by the forward-facing camera on my phone. And she was wearing a shirt I got her!
niece A and me
The youngest of the group is about nine months old and sports a big old toothy happybaby grin all the time. I love how he’s just staring up at Uncle John.

John + nephew A
I always make red velvet cookies for the North Carolina family; it has become tradition. I did make those but also got requests for oatmeal chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin so I whipped those up too. The family is always excited to see me and sometimes I wonder if it’s me or the cookies I bring ;)

I love capturing photos of the kids post-cookie with evidence still on their beautiful faces. This one’s not nearly as bad as the usual “I know you’re wondering if I ate a red velvet cookie or became a vampire and sucked someone’s blood” evidence.

niece K with cookie crumbs
Everyone was in town for a family reunion the following day somewhere in the middle of nowhere in PA. By the way, “middle of nowhere” can be applied to pretty much any town that’s between Pittsburgh and Philadelphia. (After last week’s introduction to my hometown of York PA, if you guys ever get quizzed on Pennsylvania, you’re set). And yes, in addition to towns named Intercourse and Blue Ball, we also have Virginville.

Virginville PA

At the reunion, I pretty much just hung out with the kids.

Check out that wild woman hair!

John & niece B
This girl. Ugh. I just can’t get enough.

me with niece B
And her brother… yeah, I warned you about that toothy grin. Makes you fall in love, doesn’t it?

nephew A
Speaking of love, I finally got a photo with my wife. I mean future sister-in-law. I mean Tara <3

Tara & me & nephew A
We didn’t get to see the NC family for too long because it was a busy weekend. They already have plans to come back soon so I am thrilled. Can’t wait!

The following day was Father’s Day and after our traditional breakfast in bed for John via the Father’s Day menu, we headed off to John’s work. womp womp. Yep, he had to work for a bit but luckily J-slice and I got to wait in his air conditioned office. Can’t complain about that!

We had time to kill between work and lunch with my family so we went to a nearby lake and the boys rented a paddle boat. There were spots for four people but they only allowed two (ugh!) so father & son took a ride.

John & J-slice Fathers Day paddleboat
Internet rumors say John did the actual work while J-slice just moved his feet along with the motion. haha. Classic.

John & J-slice post-paddleboat ride
We later had lunch with my family: my grandparents, my Dad and his wife were up, my Aunt T & Uncle Jim, my other aunt and uncle and cousins, and some other (second?) cousins who I hadn’t seen in way too long.

Even though I wasn’t feeling well yesterday, the boys and I met up with almost all of the family again to squeeze in a little extra time with my Dad. We don’t get much time together so I’m really thankful he made the trip.

Thanks for sticking through my weekend recap on a Tuesday. Here it’s a rainy Tuesday which makes things even worse. You guys are troopers.

How was your weekend? (Or do you forget already?!) Did you get in any fun Father’s Day activities with your dad, uncles, or grandfathers? Did I miss anything exciting in blogland yesterday??

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2013 7:22 am

    “Internet rumors say John did the actual work while J-slice just moved his feet along with the motion. haha.” LOL!!!!!!!!

  2. June 19, 2013 10:47 am

    Fun!!! All of it. Especially the red velvet cookies. Yum-o!

    I hope you are feeling better today! And it’s never too late for a weekend post.

  3. June 19, 2013 11:13 am

    I always want to know what you are up to, so I don’t think Tuesday is too late for a post about the weekend. Plus, you were too busy having fun to whip this up sooner. And can I just say – cute kid overload! You might need to post a warning next time. That’s a lot of cute kid action in one post!

    • June 19, 2013 11:29 am

      Now you know why I want to spend every second of my life with them!

  4. June 23, 2013 1:53 pm

    Just happened upon your blog…and I’m hooked. I’m reading about your Father’s Day weekend a week late and I still don’t think that’s too long. Great writing! Excited to read more of you!

    http://Www.RandomJules.com

  5. Beth permalink
    June 26, 2013 10:21 am

    Yes, I believe we are second cousins. Although I don’t get that whole “second/third/fourth cousins twice removed” expression…not that it applies here, but wth does that mean? Removed?

    Good to see you on Father’s Day!

    • June 26, 2013 10:26 am

      Such a technicality. I just call you my cousin. Period. You’re on the photo wall at home with close friends and family so you must be official :)

Trackbacks

  1. Project Life – June 2013 | the20what

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

