Skip to content

Long-distance Easter Care Package

March 25, 2013

It started out innocently enough. I went to Target to search for a few little items worthy of mailing a small package off to our nieces and nephew in North Carolina.

As most stories that start with “I went to Target” end, what began as a mission for a few small items ended up turning into a massive haul. To make it worse/better, Target led to stops at Old Navy and Kohl’s and the local grocery store as well.

NC family Easter haul

Pretty sure our nieces, nephew, brother (John’s), and sister-in-law made out. The three nieces each got two tops and our baby nephew got the Ladies Man stormtrooper onesie. Disney princesses made an appearance in shirt, book, art, and pen form. There were also some sweets, an animal-themed egg decorating kit (with two elephants!), socks, an Amazon gift card for Tara’s brand-spankin-new Kindle Fire and… about four dozen red velvet chocolate chip cookies (the family favorite).

I put Tara in charge of deciding who gets what (aside from the obvious – I’m fairly certain Josh isn’t interested in sticking Disney princess pens in his uniform sleeves). I hear she called first dibs on the owl socks. If only they made cute owl socks for us adults!

I was actually surprised that small, somewhat inexpensive, non-candy items were a bit tricky to find. But I like the challenge and I can’t wait for another excuse holiday to come up so I can put together another package!

What items do you like to send to out-of-town family? What plans do you have for Easter? We’re planning an egg hunt with my brother’s family (three kids ages 9 to 11) so I’m currently brainstorming egg-stuffing ideas.

It’s snowing today and I’m loving it. Hope you’re having a happy Monday!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    March 25, 2013 3:12 pm

    I’d like to send a giant hug and kisses in care package to the sender of the one we just received. My kids are certainly spoiled..(and well I am too). You definitely are the sweetest most thoughtful person alive. Thank you so much.
    We are going to have an extra special Easter since my gram (99 years old) is coming to visit along with my oldest sister, my 6 yr old nephew and my sister’s boyfriend. I am so looking forward to spending some much needed(and wanted) time with gram. It’s times,especially the holidays, that really bring out the love in family. I hope you all have a super wonderful Easter. Count your blessings and remember to tell the people, that you love ,how much they mean to you. Not only on holidays, but everyday.. ..which brings me to: Janelle: we love you ,miss you and appreciate you soooooooooooo freaking much.

    • March 25, 2013 3:35 pm

      Yay! Hugs and kisses received! Love you and miss you too!!!

      I hope you guys get to do an Easter egg hunt or something special. I know you’ll take lots of photos!

  2. March 26, 2013 7:20 am

    That is probably the coolest Easter package ever! :) You’re SUCH a caring person!!!

    • March 26, 2013 9:44 am

      Peeps on a stick, Nicole! Peeps on a stick. That’s all I have to say :) Thank you!

  3. March 26, 2013 11:14 am

    You can send me a care package any time! This looks like a fantastic compilation of all the things Easter should be. So thoughtful!

    • March 26, 2013 11:17 am

      haha I actually did the other day but it’s via email and I picked a date for it to come so – surprise! – you’ll be getting something little on an unexpected date :) When you get settled, I’d love to send ya something more substantial. We’re currently putting together a package for John’s military friends in Croatia. It’s fun!!

      • March 28, 2013 10:45 am

        Awww! Further proof that you are the nicest person every! Thank you!

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

