Skip to content

Decemberified Fun

December 5, 2011

This list of 50 Things To Do With Kids in December was Freshly Pressed here on WordPress recently. Of course, being the overly ambitious fool that I am, it inspired me to make a list for our little family. The overly ambitious fool part of me got a talkin’ to by the realistic part of me so my list only has 20 items. Dang, I was really shooting for 25.

Because I know that you really want to have some nerdy December holiday-related fun with me, I’m about to share my list. I’m also hoping you’ll all finally confess your dorky love of kid activities even if you’re kid-free. Please? It’ll be fun!

December Fun

December Fun (for kids and adults who want to still be kids) 

  1. Bake Cookies
  2. Decorate the Christmas tree
  3. Make crockpot cinnamon applesauce (it’s so tasty – do it!)
  4. Make salt dough ornaments
  5. Decorate a gingerbread house
  6. Donate items found around the house (SPCA, Food Bank, books)
  7. Wrap presents
  8. Make a popcorn garland
  9. Make a paper chain using scrapbook paper for tree or decoration; write things we’re thankful for on each chain link
  10. Watch a holiday movie. Or two!
  11. Hang stockings
  12. Send holiday cards
  13. Put together a card and gift for J-slice’s teacher
  14. Make cards or write letters to send to soldiers and their families
  15. Make plans to see family
  16. Put up Christmas lights
  17. Skype with someone we won’t see on Christmas
  18. Write a Gratitude Letter to each person in our house and one additional person
  19. Make wrapping paper using potato stamps
  20. See if we have any greeting cards to donate to St. Jude’s. (Inspired by Steph at her Loving Central PA blog; more here)

Some of these we’ve already done and I want to do them again and some of them we’ve done half-way and we need to complete. We’re having fun so far! I showed the list to J-slice and asked him which ones he most wants to do. His answer? Gingerbread house, popcorn garland, and surprisingly, gratitude letters. Aw, so proud!

I really wanted this list to have 25 items (ya know, like 25 days of Christmas) so I’d love to have your help. Got any suggestions? I’d love to add winter-themed items but the weather’s unpredictable around here in December. Maybe some hot chocolate drinking is in order though? Take a family photo in our family Christmas t-shirts?

What kind of December Fun would be on your list? Reading Twas the Night Before Christmas? Wrangling pets out of the tree? Making a holiday music playlist? (Essentials: Glee and Adam Sandler’s The Chanukah Song). Can’t wait to hear your ideas!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. hooshealthy permalink
    December 5, 2011 10:36 pm

    Personally, I’ve never seen Elf, so that’s on my list for this year. We always do the gingerbread houses and watch The Grinch together :) my mom likes to look at Christmas lights so sometimes we drive around and do that. New this year also: I want to do the lights at Rocky Ridge! I’m trying to talk Evan into doing that on my bday.

    Also personally trying to make a commitment to listen to only Christmas music from here on out because it doesn’t quite feel like Christmas around here!!

    • December 6, 2011 8:46 am

      Oh geez. I think I saw Elf for the first time last year. As you know, I’m not a fan of Will Ferrell but that one wasn’t so bad.

      I’ve got a BOGOF for Rocky Ridge. You may have it!

  2. December 6, 2011 6:54 am

    Ohhh I love the St.Jude and Operation Appreciation one! If you want me to mail the thank yous in when I do mine – I’m mailing my bunch next week!

    What about painting a Christmas ornament or picture frame? Or making a Christmas gift together? My best friend is making all of her Christmas gifts this year. She had a lot of cool ideas and one that sounded really neat and maybe kid-friendly was making a wreath out of bird seed as a bird feeder.

    • December 6, 2011 8:47 am

      Thank you! Actually we do have frames at home to paint so that’s a good idea :) I cannot picture how she’s making this wreath so I’m excited to see it!

  3. December 6, 2011 11:45 am

    That’s an ambitious list! I’d vote to include something related to caroling even if you just sung the carols at home.*

    • December 6, 2011 11:51 am

      Sadly we aren’t great singers. I think we’ll turn up the volume on the holiday movies and sing along to something that way! Or we’ll write our own carol! Thanks for the suggestion :)

Trackbacks

  1. It’s Crazytown over here « the20what
  2. Rollercoaster of a weekend « the20what
  3. 25 Days of Giving – What I’ve learned « Loving Central PA
  4. Merry Month Late Christmas! « the20what
  5. 25 Days of Giving preview « the20what

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

