Skip to content

Quick update and some veggie-related news

August 11, 2011
tags:

Sometimes life throws Shitbricks at you. Sometimes life throws FooFoo Fluffy Pillows Of Happiness at you instead. And sometimes life throws FooFoo Fluffy Pillows of Happiness at you but then you learn that they’re just Shitbricks in disguise. Depends on the day. Or the hour.

For the past few weeks, it’s been close to Shitbrick City around our house. John’s had a crazy work schedule which was topped off with news of the helicopter crash in Afghanistan (no, I will not be commenting on that). But we had a wonderful delightful magnificent visit with family and we’ve been taking it one day at a time. And then we came upon a day where life once again offered us FooFoo Fluffy Pillows of Happiness. Real ones.

See what ha-happened was:

John was actually home in time for dinner. The first time in a long time. So long that we couldn’t even remember the last time we said grace together.

J brought home scratch-off lottery tickets. Instead of getting Steelers (his team), he got Eagles (my team), and what do ya know… my $5 scratch-off won $15! We’re still not sure if it was my excellent ticket-scratching skillzzz or the fact that it was an Eagles ticket for once. Maybe both. You decide.

To hold us over till dinner was ready, I made this caprese quinoa for the first time. You should follow that link because Jessica’s looks so much prettier with fresh tomatoes, which we don’t care for. I used freshly roasted tomatoes instead just to add a little tomato flavor. The reason I’m writing about this caprese quinoa is because John, the meat-eating manly man, loved it. He took a second helping and even got a spoon so he could get every last bit out of the bowl. And the next day, he ate the small amount that was leftover. Yeah, I think it was a hit. I am so proud.

For dinner we made home-made french bread veggie pizzas using those freshly roasted tomatoes, plus roasted asparagus and baby bellas, basil, and fresh mozzarella.  After the veggies were cooked, J ate them right out of the oven and called himself a “veggie slut.” I just stared in amazement, wondering what surprises would come out of this guy next.

Oh don’t worry, he had another surprise up his sleeve. I ate the veggie pizza and thought it was delicious but J was too preoccupied with his meat-lovers leftover slize of pizza from the previous day. He ate it and said “I probably just overloaded on protein.” I was so shocked I didn’t even know what to say. Maybe he really is listening to words that come out of my mouth, even if it’s just a few here and there. I love that he gets it and is willing to try new things and admit when he likes them.

Afterward John made chocolate chip cookie dough milkshakes in the anniversary blender, at which point we flopped down on the couch to relax and watch Rescue Me. Do any of you guys watch that? They are firefighters in New York City. Part of the episode focused on the lieutenant who eats poorly, is overweight, and was concerned about not passing his annual physical to stay in the department. I immediately got excited and thought “are they going to put him on a plant-based diet?!?” Keep in mind that I’m currently reading The Engine 2 Diet and maybe my brain was a little too focused on that.

Let’s get down to business. What’s new with you guys? Any veggie-revelations from the males out there? Anyone else getting Shitbricks flung at them? Or are you fortunate enough to only have FooFoo Fluffy Pillows of Happiness lately?

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. hooshealthy permalink
    August 17, 2011 5:53 pm

    I love this post. No veggie revelations over here but we’re going meatless for a week starting tomorrow (by we, I mean the whole fam). I predict lots of complaints.

    • August 18, 2011 8:48 am

      Ooooh! May I come help make dinner one nite? If you need to discuss menu options, I’m here! :)

      • hooshealthy permalink
        August 18, 2011 4:42 pm

        you may always come :) tonight it’s chickpea tacos!

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

