Skip to content

I heart smores

August 9, 2011
tags:

I love all things smore-related. I even have my own smore fairy who brought me this gem: Pretzel S’mores.

I’ve seen a few recipes that tell you to put these puppies in the oven but the smart woman who writes that blog just pops them in the microwave. Let’s make things easy on ourselves, shall we? And while we’re at it, I’ll just mention that I took the lazy woman’s route and didn’t dip them in chocolate. Tragedy? I think not but you can decide.

First, a warning: these are incredibly messy to make. You may interpret that however you like.

And now for the fun stuff:

You need a bag of big marshallows, a few of your favorite chocolate bars, and small-ish pretzels.

Lay out your pretzels on a microwavable plate. Cut the big marshallows in half, hamburger-style, and lay them sticky-side down on the pretzels. I originally cut the marshmallows hot-dog style and it didn’t work as well. Mini-marshmallows could work too if that’s what you have on hand.
add marshmallow
Next add a piece of chocolate. I initially put a whole piece on there and it was too much. So I used a half piece and also slapped on some peanut butter. Because everything is better with peanut butter. Except maybe green veggies.
add peanut butter (optional) and chocolate
Microwave for 10-15 seconds until the marshmallows puff up. They’ll look like this and you’ll want to eat them immediately (but don’t):
microwave 'em!

You don’t want to wait for the chocolate to melt because it’ll end up everywhere. It is often melted after 10-15 seconds, it just doesn’t appear to be until you smoosh a pretzel down on top of it. And yes, smoosh is the technical term. So now, smoosh pretzels on top of your little smore masterpieces.

Helloooo ooey-gooey-gorgeous-goodness!
top with pretzel
I experimented with sprinkling graham cracker crumbs on top while they were in all their melty glory but I couldn’t really taste the difference so it’s up to you. I refrigerated these for a few minutes and then placed them in a container using wax paper. Even still, they were very sticky.

I recommend eating them the day of or making sure there’s as little moisture as possible in storage (because the pretzels will soak it up and get soft). Wait, who am I kidding? You’ll eat these all at once! Plus they’re so fast and easy that you can just make however many you think you’ll want/need.

The smore fairy brought me another delicious treat that I will share with you soon. And if you’re in need of a healthy-ish smore fix, I highly recommend this S’mores Granola (scroll down to the middle of the page – sorry, there’s no direct link to just the smores one). I eat their Lover’s Combo granola daily (chocolate + peanut butter, duh!) Do you guys have any smore favorites I should try?

No comments yet

Got something to say? Leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

